No matter where you are, in the case of a car accident you should take certain steps. However, depending upon the area you are in there may be specific rules and regulations that you should be aware of.
Particularly in Nevada, there are a few statutes that you must heed in order to ensure your safety and possibly help your case should you decide to seek a personal injury suit.
Checking on those involved
The Nevada Revised Statues detail the general steps that you should take at the time of an accident. After pulling the vehicles over, if possible, you must check that all parties are unharmed. If anyone sustains an injury, the uninjured party must provide basic aid. Both parties must also exchange information, including names, addresses and vehicle registration numbers.
Contacting the authorities
The next logical step is generally to contact law enforcement; however, that is not always required. In Nevada, if neither party is injured and the collision damage is under $750, the police do not have to respond. If the damage is under $750 but you notice mild symptoms, such as a headache, you can contact 911 or the local police department to report it. This can prove to be crucial should you find out in the future that you did sustain serious injuries during the accident.
If you were not at fault for the car accident, it could be beneficial to gather more information while at the scene. If there were any witnesses, get their names and contact information. Take pictures if possible of your car and the vehicle that hit you. A camera with a time stamp would be the best option; however, photos snapped on your phone can do the trick as well. If there is any other evidence that you can collect, do so. Should you seek to file a claim with your insurance company or a lawsuit, it is imperative that you have as much evidence as possible.